Confusion with Switches, chip inserts, lights, tags, etc.

Discuss map ideas, techniques, and give help.

Confusion with Switches, chip inserts, lights, tags, etc.

Post Mar 8th '14, 02:25

Hi all!

I'm making progress. Only a few week ago, I didn't even know how to texture or use weland. Now I have a 3-level textured map with terminals (#finished and #unfinished branching), pattern buffers, auto exit, and interlevel teleport from a terminal. Not too shabby considering I'm not a programmer type at all. :-) But I DO love gaming.

So, my current problem is deciphering switches, tags, and chip inserts. I continue to struggle my way through Visual Mode since it not entirely intuitive for a newb like me :-).

But even understanding now how to apply different things to a terminal using the action key (i.e., applying a terminal or pattern buffer), I am finding the simple operation of creating a switch where I can perform a chip insert to open a door with an associated 'tag' really confusing.

No matter what I do, I can't get it to work and I've scoured the forum and bungie bbs.

Here's what I've attempted (actually I've done it several different ways and this is the latest way :-) ):

In Visual mode, I created a switch and selected Chip with Tag 1. I then went into Weland and tagged the door as Tag 1 and set the level parameters to 'repair' as well as 'retrieval'. So, I do see a 'chip' that I can pick up while playing, but when I approach a switch, it does nothing when I hit the 'action' key.

I'm really not sure what I"m doing wrong here.

Can anyone provide some insight?

By the way, I plan to (a) put all I've learned on youtube and then (b) write it up for other newbs. :-) That's why I'm trying to figure all this out - just from a basic level. Not advanced stuff like stairs etc.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Best,
P

dustu

Post Mar 8th '14, 06:04