Wall climbing with grenades in Marathon, Aleph One 1.1b3 v.

Have a question, suggestion, or comment about Aleph One's features and functionality (Lua, MML, the engine itself, etc)? Post such topics here.

Wall climbing with grenades in Marathon, Aleph One 1.1b3 v.

Post Oct 24th '13, 17:58

I started this discussion in another unrelated topic, starting in this post, but now I did a new surprising finding related to this issue and decided to start a new topic dedicated to this subject only. Before sharing the new finding, I'll briefly summarize the relevant discussion started in the other topic:

I started playing Aleph One 1.0.2 version of Marathon for Windows (Marathon-20120514-Win.zip) which I believe is the latest stable release of Aleph One. Until someone in these forums told me that the latest beta version allows rescue missions and also has the value of using the original game assets and having more of the original features. He told me that every detail of the original Marathon has been preserved and recreated in that version, including flying with the Flamethrower or Alien Weapon in low-gravity, and wall-climbing with grenades (not meaning grenade hopping). Since then, I put aside the stable release and started playing latest beta version (Marathon-20130813-Win.zip). But then, I got stuck in the Deprivation Chamber in the level 'Never Burn Money', because in spite of my many attempts, I couldn't do the wall-climbing to reach the teleporter, even though I used the exact same technique of this video, which is "easily" reproducible. The reason why I couldn't do it was because as soon as I fired the second grenade, I was propelled backwards (and up), rather than forward as it should be. So, I figured out an alternative way of doing it, a workaround: I climbed the opposite wall backwards (see this video), which is more difficult to accomplish than to climb the wall in a "normal" way, moving forward towards the goal! But you could ask: How do I know that it's more