back again

Introduce yourself here!

back again

Post Jun 27th '13, 23:04

Well hello there, community. I am a veteran Marathon'er. Back in my pre-teen/teenage days on the folks' Quadra or whatever the hell it was, I was an addict. Regular poster to the story page... in fact I successfully vidded every level but two in the entire trilogy (both M1 levels, Habe Quiddam and one of the Pfhor levels). Hamish said something about the films showing nothing new or whatever and didn't post them, that prick. I figured I should've at least gotten the recognition for doing what very few had ever done. Anyway, without inflating my ego too much, I'll also give myself credit for being a pretty good map-maker. I was working on my own total conversion scenario. I was never much of an artist, but I could make some pretty awesome, sprawling, intricate levels. Stole some texture sets from around the internet, had my buddy make a few chapter screens and new aliens, I tried composing a few new sounds too. Then my Mac died and I lost it all. It's actually still in storage somewhere, but I had made so many modifications over the years I have no idea even if I could recover it, which version it would be. That was kind of traumatic and marked the abrupt end of my Marathon interest.

Annnnyway, just last night I got myself a copy of Sheep Saver and Forge and started playing around making a map. Ironically I can't even *play* Marathon anymore (I do have Marathon 2 on the XBOX) but my golly it was both a trip down memory lane and absolutely satisfying that I *still* remembered not only how to compose a map but do a bunch of old map tricks (I spent a good hour building a room with 4 overlapping polygons to simply give the illusion of a bridge... then I realized I did it wrong and only needed 2!)

If anyone gives a shit maybe I'll upload the map when it's done and let y'all play it.

Cheers
doctorbenjiphd

Post Jun 28th '13, 03:52