Run XP natively on OSX

Chat and discussion not related to either Marathon or Aleph One. Please keep things at least mildly interesting, though.
Post Reply
User avatar
shongshong
Vidmaster
Posts: 939
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 19:38
Location: right here
Contact:

http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/

read this!!!!!

now you too will be able to boot windows xp nativly on your MAC! NATIVLY

only slight downside is that it probibaly requires the intel core duo mac, (fine by me)
Image
shongshong.vze.com (main site)
[Flickr page] (subdivision of renderings)
Marathon Squadron
User avatar
assassingao
Vidmaster
Posts: 1174
Joined: Jan 24th '06, 21:42

If I had an intel mac, I'd wanna surprise my friend by booting windows xp first, then mac os X.


Comparing between bad 'n good.
Peachey

Yay! We can play the Half-Life 2 Marathon now :D
User avatar
shongshong
Vidmaster
Posts: 939
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 19:38
Location: right here
Contact:

lol, its like the mac gods read our minds!
cause the other day, me and my freinds were wishing that hl2 would be transfered over to mac cause some of my freinds will never see a pc on their desk...
and yesterday (VWHELAW!!!) wish come true-ish!!!
Image
shongshong.vze.com (main site)
[Flickr page] (subdivision of renderings)
Marathon Squadron
Destroyer E

I'd only do it for Halo 2. I'll probably be getting an Intel Mac eventually (it's inevitable for all Mac users, really), so I might do it. Depends on my mood. [MTongue]
User avatar
tux0beliver
Cyborg
Posts: 147
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 19:57
Contact:

Now how many of us will legally purchase a copy of Windows?
Macsforever wrote:What? This topic is pointless and moronic, go rape an eight year old next time.
Click here to report this sick pedo.
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

I don't think ill every load windows, half because all I would use it for is IE testing and half because I have been on a M$ boycott for like 3 years now :D No Word (Back Before Pages), No IE (back when it was on every mac), No WMV (back when there wasen't a free plugin)... now that I think about it, apple has done soma major M$A$$ kicking last few years, DOWN WITH M$!!!
User avatar
shongshong
Vidmaster
Posts: 939
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 19:38
Location: right here
Contact:

Destroyer E wrote: I'd only do it for Halo 2. I'll probably be getting an Intel Mac eventually (it's inevitable for all Mac users, really), so I might do it. Depends on my mood. [MTongue]
yah... effing microsoft... Halo 2 will never be released on computers... EVER! EFFING EVERR!!!!

but I find the dual boot veerrry helpfull for what I do cause im constantly utilizing softwear on both platforms... mainly 3dmax on pc and video games (and other developments,)..
lolr! [MGrin]
Image
shongshong.vze.com (main site)
[Flickr page] (subdivision of renderings)
Marathon Squadron
User avatar
assassingao
Vidmaster
Posts: 1174
Joined: Jan 24th '06, 21:42

Down with the Windoze Vista!!!

Up with Leopard!!!

W00T!!!

(Faking a clueless noob.)
Destroyer E

shongshong wrote: yah... effing microsoft... Halo 2 will never be released on computers... EVER! EFFING EVERR!!!!
lolr! [MGrin]
Unfortunately, It's looking like it will be Vista only. Many Mac users think it will be ported anyway, but if not, I have my plan.
tux0beliver wrote: Now how many of us will legally purchase a copy of Windows?
I wouldn't. I could snag a copy at school though. They have millions of them. I could even grab a beta of Vista (which I have used, and it does suck).
User avatar
Bridget
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 759
Joined: Apr 1st '06, 04:56
Location: Another World
Contact:



I'm actually running 10.4.6 now.
Last edited by Bridget on May 1st '06, 01:35, edited 1 time in total.
Alan wrote:QUOTE(Alan @ Feb 1 2008, 08:14 PM) Also why is Bridget a guy yet he looks so pretty?
Image
User avatar
shongshong
Vidmaster
Posts: 939
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 19:38
Location: right here
Contact:

wait, when you say you are running 6, does that mean you got an early copy of leopould, I mean Leapord? cause it says 5

aannddd most of all... How does it run! I cant wait till I get a core duo! it will be such a step up from a 1st edition g4 tower mac! [MSmile]
Image
shongshong.vze.com (main site)
[Flickr page] (subdivision of renderings)
Marathon Squadron
User avatar
Bridget
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 759
Joined: Apr 1st '06, 04:56
Location: Another World
Contact:

I'm running OS 10.4.6 on a PC that I built. This PC cost me about $900.

Intel Pentium D 920 @ 2.8ghz (Dual Core)
Asus P5LD2-VM Motherboard
1gb PC5300 RAM
Sapphire Radeon X1600 Pro PCI-E 256mb VRAM
80gb SATA HDD (3gb/sec)
80gb IDE HDD
NEC Dual-Layer DVD/CD Burner
Antec Aria Case
Windows XP Pro 64bit (SATA)
Mac OSX86 10.4.6 (IDE)

Xbench v1.2 score : ~82

Go here for more info on how to DIY : http://www.osx86project.org/

OSX runs very well on my machine, though not perfect (for example, that System Info bug that lists my 2.8ghz CPU as 3.8ghz). Should improve over time.
Last edited by Bridget on May 1st '06, 02:57, edited 1 time in total.
Alan wrote:QUOTE(Alan @ Feb 1 2008, 08:14 PM) Also why is Bridget a guy yet he looks so pretty?
Image
Post Reply