What system do you run Aleph One?

Chat and discussion not related to either Marathon or Aleph One. Please keep things at least mildly interesting, though.
Post Reply
kc3
Born on Board
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2nd '07, 18:16
Contact:

Just curious, what system do you use to run Aleph One??? Personally I use Slackware Linux and Aleph One runs great :D I also play a lot of Windows games through WINE.

[edit] lol, I forgot to include a 360 or *other* option.
Last edited by kc3 on Feb 24th '10, 03:22, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
L'howon
Vidmaster
Posts: 898
Joined: Mar 18th '08, 12:49
Location: Somewhere outside the Citadel Of Antiquity
Contact:

kc3 wrote:[edit] lol, I forgot to include a 360 ... option.
The 360 version doesn't run using Aleph One.
I have been wading in a long river and my feet are wet.
User avatar
interion
Cyborg
Posts: 331
Joined: Oct 20th '07, 18:34
Contact:

Lh wrote:The 360 version doesn't run using Aleph One.
But Aleph One runs the 360 version.
Image Image
User avatar
Zott
Vidmaster
Posts: 1660
Joined: Jul 1st '06, 21:14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Thought this was going to be a system spec comparison ala Steam's, but whatever:

Windows 7 x64
Asus G50v-X1
Core 2 Duo P8400
9700M GT
Roughly 200GB Hard Drive.
4GB DDR2 Ram

That's all the important stuff.
Video Gamer Blog (With some articles by me!)

Look at Him Go, Weeee
User avatar
Vladtepes
Cyborg
Posts: 96
Joined: Jan 4th '09, 10:57
Location: Nantes, France
Contact:

Hum, I am pretty sure Aleph One does not work on Classic MacOS any more since SDL port.

Anyway, why isn't it a multi-choice poll? [MTongue]
irons wrote:QUOTE(irons @ Dec 18 2009, 12:47 AM) LEAVE ME ALONE STOP HURTING MY FEELINGS
Image
User avatar
Zott
Vidmaster
Posts: 1660
Joined: Jul 1st '06, 21:14
Location: Earth
Contact:

VladTepes wrote:Hum, I am pretty sure Aleph One does not work on Classic MacOS any more since SDL port.
I think this is the last Classic Aleph One, and it was after the move to SDL. (The last one I could find)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/marathon/f...13.sit/download

It is still fairly recent, and so should support most lua/mml stuff.
Video Gamer Blog (With some articles by me!)

Look at Him Go, Weeee
kc3
Born on Board
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2nd '07, 18:16
Contact:

Well by that one I meant like if you have the original games :) I actually have my original Marathon 2 disk and also have the Mac Action sack disk which I OCCASIONALLY I run using Basilisk :) and the guy with the specs, that's actually not a bad idea, hey post your specs too :)

Slackware Linux 13
2.6GHz E5300 Dual Core
4GB DDR2 Ram
64GB OCZ Solid State Hard Drive
150GB 10,000RPM Velociraptor
750GB 7,200RPM Seagate
Nvidia 8800GT AlphaDog Video Card
User avatar
L'howon
Vidmaster
Posts: 898
Joined: Mar 18th '08, 12:49
Location: Somewhere outside the Citadel Of Antiquity
Contact:

Tim wrote:But Aleph One runs the 360 version.
Which requires you to either own or have access to a 360 in the first place.
I have been wading in a long river and my feet are wet.
kc3
Born on Board
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2nd '07, 18:16
Contact:

lol, I love how you gotta pay $10 for a game on the 360 when you have practically the same game free on PC
User avatar
interion
Cyborg
Posts: 331
Joined: Oct 20th '07, 18:34
Contact:

Lh wrote:Which requires you to either own or have access to a 360 in the first place.
Require is a pretty strong word. You're required to install Python and some weird tool to unpack the data files, but that's about it.
Image Image
User avatar
Shaun555
Born on Board
Posts: 17
Joined: Aug 13th '08, 14:57
Contact:

I run on (yes, shameful) Vista 32-bit.

(Also xbox)
Last edited by Shaun555 on May 1st '10, 01:49, edited 1 time in total.
All over the ship, dancing through the wreckage of the Pfhor computer core,

DURANDAL WAS LAUGHING
User avatar
TectonInd
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 383
Joined: Apr 17th '10, 03:48
Contact:

I wish MY system specs are as good as all of yours :U

XP 32-bit OS
Celeron 2.0 processor
1 Gig RAM
Nvidia Geoforce 8400 GX Graphics Card
500 Watt power supply
things
Post Reply