Simplici7y status update

Pfhorums news can be found here. Have a question or suggestion for the Pfhorums? Ask it here.
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

Hey everyone,

7 days ago uptime robot reported S7 going down. Previous times this has happened temporarily, but this time it hasn't come back on it's own. I have no access to the current host machine, and started a new job a little over a week ago, so I've been unable to get things back online yet. This is my only focus this weekend though, and I'm making good progress on a new, stable host (which currently hosts Pfhorums). Unfortunately, the Rails version S7 runs is so old the ruby version won't even compile on a modern gcc. Checking out the options. Will post any updates here.

Switch
User avatar
Wrkncacnter
Vidmaster
Posts: 1947
Joined: Jan 29th '06, 03:51
Contact:

Thanks for keeping simplici7y running at all.
User avatar
General-RADIX
Cyborg
Posts: 296
Joined: Aug 8th '16, 15:02

Hope everything goes well.
welcome to the scene of the crash
User avatar
JohannesG
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 607
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 23:52
Contact:

<3
User avatar
RyokoTK
Vidmaster
Posts: 4161
Joined: Mar 7th '06, 07:04
Location: Saint Paul, MN

Wrkncacnter wrote:Thanks for keeping simplici7y running at all.
Zetren
Born on Board
Posts: 31
Joined: Feb 9th '16, 02:58
Location: Ireland
Contact:

It's somewhat funny that the week I decide to play through Marathon 2/Infinity for the first time is the week that Simplici7y goes down. But thanks so much for running it all these years.
User avatar
Crater Creator
Vidmaster
Posts: 943
Joined: Feb 29th '08, 03:54
Contact:

Switch wrote:...a new, stable host (which currently hosts Pfhorums)....
But wait! With Simplici7y and the Pfhorums hosted at the same site, how can we complain here when Simplici7y goes down? ;)
User avatar
Zott
Vidmaster
Posts: 1659
Joined: Jul 1st '06, 21:14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Thank you for all your hard work.
User avatar
philtron
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 356
Joined: Apr 20th '12, 05:27
Contact:

Zott wrote:Thank you for all your hard work.
User avatar
hawkeyefile
Cyborg
Posts: 195
Joined: Nov 30th '06, 06:50
Location: In front of my terminal debugging mainframes...
Contact:

I can lend a hand if need be, I have a few gigabit lines at my lab, I can dedicate some serious bandwidth and around 3 cores and 12gb of ram to spare on my ESXi box. I can give you full access to the remote VM. Just let me know what you prefer (putty, VNC, RDP, etc).
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

Redundancy would be awesome, but unfortunately, that's the situation I'm already in. I have a very powerful VM on an amazing line ( running this here site ), but problems getting Ruby 1.8.6 or 1.8.7 compiled. Also, with the new job, My Monday-Fridays I'm barely home, so I'm tackling it next probably tonight or tomorrow morning. If anyone has experience with such things and wants to help this weekend, I'm more dev than dev-ops so I'd appreciate the help, even if it's just to talk through ideas / solutions.
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

Another option I'm honestly considering is just rewriting the whole damn thing. I'm a much better and faster coder than I used to be, and Simplici7y isn't that complicated. I could probably get something pretty good in a weekend. However, I'd prefer to at least try to get the current site online early tomorrow.
User avatar
hawkeyefile
Cyborg
Posts: 195
Joined: Nov 30th '06, 06:50
Location: In front of my terminal debugging mainframes...
Contact:

I'm more Dev-ops then Dev. Pm me and we can discuss more.
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

Site back up on old hosting. Still need to move the site to new hosting, and it may go down again, but at least it's online while I'm working.
User avatar
hawkeyefile
Cyborg
Posts: 195
Joined: Nov 30th '06, 06:50
Location: In front of my terminal debugging mainframes...
Contact:

It's down again, damn. I was hoping to at least get a static mirror complete today.
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

Yeah, I was hoping that at least held off until the weekend. MySQL is being killed due to memory limits. Tried a fix and rebooted again.
User avatar
hawkeyefile
Cyborg
Posts: 195
Joined: Nov 30th '06, 06:50
Location: In front of my terminal debugging mainframes...
Contact:

The anal rape has begun. Please refrain from using simplici7y.
User avatar
hawkeyefile
Cyborg
Posts: 195
Joined: Nov 30th '06, 06:50
Location: In front of my terminal debugging mainframes...
Contact:

Out of curiosity, how much data is there? I have 4tb I can devote.
User avatar
hawkeyefile
Cyborg
Posts: 195
Joined: Nov 30th '06, 06:50
Location: In front of my terminal debugging mainframes...
Contact:

http://simplici7y.stever.tech/
Current mirror. It's entirely static and I'm not sure if all of the files are there however, it's better than nothing until Switch and I can do more real work.
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

hawkeyefile wrote:Out of curiosity, how much data is there? I have 4tb I can devote.
24GB [MTongue] We're not talking movies here.
User avatar
Wrkncacnter
Vidmaster
Posts: 1947
Joined: Jan 29th '06, 03:51
Contact:

How does it end up being 24 GB? If you download every single file available right now, it ends up being 4 GB.
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

That was an upper-bound on the entire www folder from `df -h`. The actual `public/version/file` folder is 8.9gb, which also includes all past versions of files that aren't linked for download.
User avatar
hawkeyefile
Cyborg
Posts: 195
Joined: Nov 30th '06, 06:50
Location: In front of my terminal debugging mainframes...
Contact:

Okay, total is now 5.06 gb for the static mirror.
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

I got it working on the Pfhorums server! Going to shut down the old one and migrate all the data.
User avatar
Switch
Vidmaster
Posts: 1005
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 05:01
Location: NYC
Contact:

Back online on the same server as Pfhorums! Pretty blazingly fast, and if the Pfhorums is any indication, very stable.
Post Reply