Page 1 of 1

Posted: Jul 17th '09, 05:59
by Nobody
Building Aleph One on Ubuntu 9.04, errors during $ make:

...
Network/libnetwork.a(network_speex.o): In function `destroy_speex_encoder()':
/home/name/Desktop/AlephOne-20081226/Source_Files/Network/network_speex.cpp:78: undefined reference to `speex_preprocess_state_destroy'
Network/libnetwork.a(network_speex.o): In function `init_speex_encoder()':
/home/name/Desktop/AlephOne-20081226/Source_Files/Network/network_speex.cpp:56: undefined reference to `speex_preprocess_state_init'
/home/name/Desktop/AlephOne-20081226/Source_Files/Network/network_speex.cpp:59: undefined reference to `speex_preprocess_ctl'
/home/name/Desktop/AlephOne-20081226/Source_Files/Network/network_speex.cpp:61: undefined reference to `speex_preprocess_ctl'
/home/name/Desktop/AlephOne-20081226/Source_Files/Network/network_speex.cpp:64: undefined reference to `speex_preprocess_ctl'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [alephone] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/name/Desktop/AlephOne-20081226/Source_Files'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/name/Desktop/AlephOne-20081226/Source_Files'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/name/Desktop/AlephOne-20081226'
make: *** [all] Error 2

What gives? I have the libspeexdsp-dev package which contains speex_preprocess, but I can't find speex_preprocess_ctl nor speex_preprocess_state_init. Yahoo yields no clues, but it looks as if similar "undefined reference to 'speex_preprocess_state_destroy/init/ctl'" errors have occurred in other programs.

I'm sure I could disable speex via ./configure options, but don't want to unless I have to.

Posted: Jul 17th '09, 13:04
by treellama
What version of Speex is installed? At some point they moved the preprocessor functions from one library to another, but Aleph One picked up that change in mid '08.

Posted: Jul 18th '09, 01:59
by Nobody
Odd. I ran out of space on my partition, more stuff happened, ended up reinstalling ubuntu, and now it works. Must not've had the right package before.

Thanks anyways.

EDIT: now, how do I choose between scenarios? i.e. what do I do to play M1, M2, and M00 without uninstalling and reinstalling them in my Aleph One folder?

Posted: Jul 18th '09, 02:19
by tehWastedJamacan
put aleph one into the scenario folder, not the other way around.

Posted: Jul 18th '09, 02:44
by Nobody
tehWastedJamacan wrote:put aleph one into the scenario folder, not the other way around.
Duh. Thanks.

But that doesn't solve my problem; it's not as if there's an executable for each, just the command "alephone".

Posted: Jul 18th '09, 03:38
by tehWastedJamacan
Ooohhhh. so there isnt an executeble for ubuntu?

Posted: Jul 18th '09, 04:18
by Nobody
tehWastedJamacan wrote:Ooohhhh. so there isnt an executeble for ubuntu?
Right. In the README, it says to type "alephone" into the terminal (like windows' command prompt/DOS), which works, but starts M1A1 rather than let me choose which one I want to run.

Posted: Jul 18th '09, 05:43
by Wrkncacnter
Give the path to the folder that has the data files to alephone. So it'd be something like "alephone /home/douchebag/4GET_MARARTHON/"

Posted: Jul 18th '09, 17:20
by Nobody
Sweet, it worked. Thanks, W'rk.