Aleph One 1.3

Have a question, suggestion, or comment about Aleph One's features and functionality (Lua, MML, the engine itself, etc)? Post such topics here.
Post Reply
User avatar
treellama
Vidmaster
Posts: 6105
Joined: Jun 2nd '06, 02:05
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Aleph One 1.3 is available!

https://alephone.lhowon.org

Here are the release notes:

https://github.com/Aleph-One-Marathon/a ... e-20200830
User avatar
Flowers
Cyborg
Posts: 117
Joined: Jul 26th '17, 22:12

Hooray, and congrats on the release! I'm curious, what are the future plans for Aleph One's development at the moment, if any?
User avatar
TrajansRow
Born on Board
Posts: 69
Joined: Sep 29th '16, 15:53

Thanks contributors for the half decade of commits that went into this release! Hopefully some of the modernization in 1.3 will make 1.4 more fun to work on. :)
User avatar
Sharkie Lino
Cyborg
Posts: 318
Joined: Jul 15th '07, 01:42
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Seems to be working well!

Nice that it doesn't crash anymore when switching between full screen and windowed mode after a few times.

I guess I'll have to try that Trojan scenario some time.
Marathon Player Since 1995.

If You Are Always Dying in The Game, You Are Not a Bad Player, You Are Learning.
User avatar
treellama
Vidmaster
Posts: 6105
Joined: Jun 2nd '06, 02:05
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

And on its heels, 1.3.1 has a fix for Aleph One films with original Marathon data files, and another for wobble ceilings.

https://github.com/Aleph-One-Marathon/a ... e-20200904
User avatar
Flippant Sol
Born on Board
Posts: 70
Joined: Jun 24th '17, 21:01

There doesn't seem to be a 1080p option, hmmm.
My graphics options will only go up to 1536x864 and when I try to force 1920x1080 in the preferences it defaults to 640x480. :/
I have a EVGA GTX 1060 SC 6GB and I'm playing on a Samsung 1080p 120Hz monitor. I tried it in 60Hz and there still wasn't a 1080p option. Am I missing something?
User avatar
Flippant Sol
Born on Board
Posts: 70
Joined: Jun 24th '17, 21:01

Interesting, so when I changed the "Change the size of text, apps, and other items" from 150% to 100%, my highest resolution went from 1536x864 up to 1080p. That's weird that a game would operated on my Windows 10 font sizing, hmmm. But now I can't read anything, of course. :/

The problem here seems to be some sort of DPI thing going on with Marathon, I think it has to do with the new mouse code, I opened marathon's compatibility options with 125% scaling back on and turn on DPI override and the game works fine now with 1080p, so windows compatibility issues?
User avatar
treellama
Vidmaster
Posts: 6105
Joined: Jun 2nd '06, 02:05
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

I’m running a 1440p at 125% on a GTX1060 and I have no problems reaching max resolution. Make sure your Windows and drivers are up to date.
Post Reply