Invisible Pattern Buffer

For topics about the story, help in a certain level, game discussion, or finding/discussing content.
Post Reply
User avatar
Coraxus
Cyborg
Posts: 87
Joined: Jul 14th '06, 07:47
Location: DryDock Station orbiting over Sov. Latifundia
Contact:

Can anyone explain this strange and mysterious origins behind this? If you don't know what I'm talking about, long ago, I happened to stumble on it by mistake but indeed there is an invisible pattern buffer near the beginning of Pfhoraphobia, a level in the first Marathon game.

*note that the wall I'm facing is where you'll find the pattern buffer.*
Attachments
buffer2.jpg
buffer2.jpg (78.41 KiB) Viewed 1796 times
buffer1.jpg
buffer1.jpg (112.43 KiB) Viewed 1802 times
User avatar
Lugas
Vidmaster
Posts: 834
Joined: Jun 12th '06, 20:40
Contact:

Are you in Marathon One or M1A1? If you're in M1A1, I don't know how they found the invisible pattern buffer. I think you're in M1A1 because the HUD is different from the one in Marathon One.

I've looked for the Terminal in Marathon One and I can't find it. Maybe it was added there just for the sake of it...
I dunno.
User avatar
Shadowbreaker
Vidmaster
Posts: 3436
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 18:56
Contact:

Hehe, I found that. Its probably just a secret m1a1 guys put in, cause m1 didnt have wafer walls. It saves ass btw.
User avatar
Coraxus
Cyborg
Posts: 87
Joined: Jul 14th '06, 07:47
Location: DryDock Station orbiting over Sov. Latifundia
Contact:

Lugas wrote: Are you in Marathon One or M1A1? If you're in M1A1, I don't know how they found the invisible pattern buffer. I think you're in M1A1 because the HUD is different from the one in Marathon One.

I've looked for the Terminal in Marathon One and I can't find it. Maybe it was added there just for the sake of it...
I dunno.
I'm using the latest Aleph One build for the OSX, that's why the hud is different. But if you haven't noticed what I did to it, I modified the shield and oxygen bars only, while experimenting and learning the ropes of editing and customizing.
User avatar
assassingao
Vidmaster
Posts: 1174
Joined: Jan 24th '06, 21:42

I'm quite certain that it's M1A1, because original marathon cannot be played anything else other than CLASSIC (Before os X.)
User avatar
Lugas
Vidmaster
Posts: 834
Joined: Jun 12th '06, 20:40
Contact:

I believe in the orignal Marathon, there was no save terminal in Pfhoraphobia. This was added due to a bug in M1A1. This annoying bug didn't allow the player to teleport off the alien ship. The solution was to go to a checkpoint on the previous level and continue from there. It would work fine. This save terminal was added so that you could get off the last alien level.
Post Reply