Weland

Questions about the content creation procedure go here, including using Forge, Anvil, or other editors, or operating emulators like Basilisk II.
User avatar
CryoS
Vidmaster
Posts: 1720
Joined: Jul 1st '07, 09:56
Location: The Dungeon
Contact:

Just beeing able to view a maps simple geometry would be kickass in itself. I'm just dreaming here, but it would make you able to correct stairs or missaligned heights before opening in A1 with vml.

ah well. great job with weland treellama.
Last edited by CryoS on Jun 12th '10, 16:24, edited 1 time in total.
What are you, if not seven different shades of stupid?
User avatar
treellama
Vidmaster
Posts: 6107
Joined: Jun 2nd '06, 02:05
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

[attachment=4037:weland_t...ure_mode.png]
Attachments
weland_texture_mode.png
weland_texture_mode.png (701.41 KiB) Viewed 10162 times
User avatar
RyokoTK
Vidmaster
Posts: 4161
Joined: Mar 7th '06, 07:04
Location: Saint Paul, MN

Treellama wrote:[attachment=4037:weland_t...ure_mode.png]
Hey I recognize that map.
User avatar
Ares Ex Machina
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 611
Joined: Jan 23rd '08, 08:07
Contact:

Treellama wrote:[weland texture mode]
F [MUp] YEAH!
User avatar
Dugit
Vidmaster
Posts: 1803
Joined: Mar 22nd '09, 16:33
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

RyokoTK wrote:Hey I recognize that map.
Well it does say Escape Two Thousand at the top.
Wow, Weland can do that?
Polyplicity my second (less sucky) net pack. Go on. Download it. You know you don't want to.
Marathon Aeon- My scenario in the works ~on Simplici7y

riveting six-vertice amnesty ratifications
User avatar
RyokoTK
Vidmaster
Posts: 4161
Joined: Mar 7th '06, 07:04
Location: Saint Paul, MN

Dugit wrote:Well it does say Escape Two Thousand at the top.
User avatar
screamingfool
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 499
Joined: Jul 19th '06, 22:10
Contact:

dang. soon enough i'll run out of excuses not to try weland
User avatar
treellama
Vidmaster
Posts: 6107
Joined: Jun 2nd '06, 02:05
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Weland 1.2 is now on SourceForge.

You can texture floors and ceilings now, Forge style. Before that, you must select a shapes file in Preferences. Weland 1.2 can also export maps to Wavefront OBJ format, so you can open them in your favorite 3D editor.

Plus, some bug fixes:Don't allow unchecking solid on lines that have zero or one polygon owners (fixes crash in Aleph One)Fix media checkbox "Sound obstructed by floor"More accurate sound volume roundingOnly display platform numbers when in draw modeFix command key in newest version of Mono framework for Mac
Last edited by treellama on Aug 7th '10, 02:29, edited 1 time in total.
Kurinn
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 627
Joined: Jan 26th '09, 22:21
Contact:

Thank You.

[attachment=4066:oooh.png]
Attachments
oooh.png
oooh.png (647.34 KiB) Viewed 10169 times
Last edited by Kurinn on Aug 7th '10, 08:48, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
treellama
Vidmaster
Posts: 6107
Joined: Jun 2nd '06, 02:05
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Thanks. I was going to post an OBJ screenshot, but, man, Blender. Nuclear power plants have friendlier UIs.
User avatar
RyokoTK
Vidmaster
Posts: 4161
Joined: Mar 7th '06, 07:04
Location: Saint Paul, MN

Is that Max? How did you get that to render so nicely? I tried rendering a couple things and it looked awful.

I also see that you cut out the exterior part of that level, if that's what you sent me for Project X.
Kurinn
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 627
Joined: Jan 26th '09, 22:21
Contact:

Treellama wrote:Thanks. I was going to post an OBJ screenshot, but, man, Blender. Nuclear power plants have friendlier UIs.
It's not so bad, once you realize that you "must think in Russian."
RyokoTK wrote:Is that Max? How did you get that to render so nicely? I tried rendering a couple things and it looked awful.

I also see that you cut out the exterior part of that level, if that's what you sent me for Project X.
As Treellama noted, it's Blender.

And yes, I did cut out the surrounding stuff, just because I wanted to focus on the ridiculousness that is the complex.
Image
User avatar
TectonInd
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 383
Joined: Apr 17th '10, 03:48
Contact:

Now all you need is full Visual Mode functionality.
User avatar
RyokoTK
Vidmaster
Posts: 4161
Joined: Mar 7th '06, 07:04
Location: Saint Paul, MN

TectonInd wrote:Now all you need is full Visual Mode functionality.
User avatar
goran
Vidmaster
Posts: 1468
Joined: Feb 2nd '06, 19:51
Contact:

TectonInd wrote:Now all you need is full Visual Mode functionality.
NO no. All we wish for now is for Weland to support a cooperative draw mode.
Kurinn
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 627
Joined: Jan 26th '09, 22:21
Contact:

G.S.10 wrote:NO no. All we wish for now is for Weland to support a cooperative draw mode.
I want the Weland that is best at doing what it does already, but also with the ability to have ice cream delivered to my door in under 20 minutes.
Image
User avatar
Dugit
Vidmaster
Posts: 1803
Joined: Mar 22nd '09, 16:33
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:



Tiny Figher? :)
Polyplicity my second (less sucky) net pack. Go on. Download it. You know you don't want to.
Marathon Aeon- My scenario in the works ~on Simplici7y

riveting six-vertice amnesty ratifications
User avatar
Skullcleaver
Born on Board
Posts: 69
Joined: Mar 16th '10, 16:57
Location: LALA Land
Contact:

treelama what version exactly of monoframework do you download?
And when youre finished downloading it, do you open it?
I LIKE PIE
User avatar
treellama
Vidmaster
Posts: 6107
Joined: Jun 2nd '06, 02:05
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

If you have Mac OS X 10.5, you can use the latest version of the framework. If you only have 10.4 I think you will need to go back to version 2.6.4.

You do need to install it after you download--I guess I assumed that it was obvious that just leaving it in your download folder is not sufficient. Is that assumption invalid for Mac users?
User avatar
RyokoTK
Vidmaster
Posts: 4161
Joined: Mar 7th '06, 07:04
Location: Saint Paul, MN

Treellama wrote:If you have Mac OS X 10.5, you can use the latest version of the framework. If you only have 10.4 I think you will need to go back to version 2.6.4.

You do need to install it after you download--I guess I assumed that it was obvious that just leaving it in your download folder is not sufficient. Is that assumption invalid for Mac users?
Dude, you're talking to Mac users. You have to go over everything slowly. ;)
Post Reply