Physics!

Questions about the content creation procedure go here, including using Forge, Anvil, or other editors, or operating emulators like Basilisk II.
Post Reply
User avatar
Sargatanus
Born on Board
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 21st '09, 02:28
Contact:

Well I can get Anvil 1.0.3 physics models to work with the M2 Scenario for A1, but not for Infinity. What do I need to do to get the to function properly?
User avatar
Dugit
Vidmaster
Posts: 1803
Joined: Mar 22nd '09, 16:33
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

That's odd. It should. I thought M2 and Moo were the same engines, with only minor differences (e.g: the SMG, the VacBobs, the Jjaro texture set). I assume it's those minor differences.
Polyplicity my second (less sucky) net pack. Go on. Download it. You know you don't want to.
Marathon Aeon- My scenario in the works ~on Simplici7y

riveting six-vertice amnesty ratifications
User avatar
Shadowbreaker
Vidmaster
Posts: 3435
Joined: Jan 22nd '06, 18:56
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Contact:

Oh, are you talking about actual single player? All of the solo levels in Infinity have embedded physics models (which you can't override by selecting physics models from the enviornment menu). Other than that, there should be no trouble with maps and physics.
User avatar
Dugit
Vidmaster
Posts: 1803
Joined: Mar 22nd '09, 16:33
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Sorry. I thought you meant generally Infinity maps, not the actual scenario. Shadow is right.
Polyplicity my second (less sucky) net pack. Go on. Download it. You know you don't want to.
Marathon Aeon- My scenario in the works ~on Simplici7y

riveting six-vertice amnesty ratifications
Fishman92
Mjolnir Mark IV
Posts: 528
Joined: May 22nd '09, 21:54

Sargatanus wrote:Well I can get Anvil 1.0.3 physics models to work with the M2 Scenario for A1, but not for Infinity. What do I need to do to get the to function properly?
When you made the physics model, did you choose 'New Infinity Model'??
User avatar
Sargatanus
Born on Board
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 21st '09, 02:28
Contact:

Fishman92 wrote:When you made the physics model, did you choose 'New Infinity Model'??
I did, but I forgot about the individual physics bit... Bugger... Alright, it's been a LONG time since I've done this. All i want to do is implement a really funny and overpowered physics model into the scenario. Now, I know there was a utility for the non-A1 version that split the scenario into it's respective parts, and then from there I can modify them one by one (yeah, pain in the ass I know, but I've done it before) and re-integrate them. Anyone remember what that utility was?
User avatar
treellama
Vidmaster
Posts: 6107
Joined: Jun 2nd '06, 02:05
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Marathon Map Splitter

But Atque in my sig does the same and runs in Mac OS X and Windows
User avatar
Sargatanus
Born on Board
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 21st '09, 02:28
Contact:

Treellama wrote:Marathon Map Splitter

But Atque in my sig does the same and runs in Mac OS X and Windows
Alright it works, but now Anvil doesn't want to open those physics files... I'm batting 1,000 here...
User avatar
treellama
Vidmaster
Posts: 6107
Joined: Jun 2nd '06, 02:05
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Sargatanus wrote:Alright it works, but now Anvil doesn't want to open those physics files... I'm batting 1,000 here...
Probably have to modify the old Mac OS file type code.
User avatar
Sargatanus
Born on Board
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 21st '09, 02:28
Contact:

Okay, now I'm stumped. How do I go about doing that?
User avatar
goran
Vidmaster
Posts: 1468
Joined: Feb 2nd '06, 19:51
Contact:

It's something like this (if I've made any errors, perhaps someone can correct them?):

Open Resedit.
file/get file info
select mapfile
put the cursor on the filetype field
write: phy[infinity sign]
You write the infinity sign with alt+5
save
User avatar
Sargatanus
Born on Board
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 21st '09, 02:28
Contact:

Goran wrote:It's something like this (if I've made any errors, perhaps someone can correct them?):

Open Resedit.
file/get file info
select mapfile
put the cursor on the filetype field
write: phy[infinity sign]
You write the infinity sign with alt+5
save
The file type already says phy?...
User avatar
Dugit
Vidmaster
Posts: 1803
Joined: Mar 22nd '09, 16:33
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

I thought universal physics files were .phyA
Polyplicity my second (less sucky) net pack. Go on. Download it. You know you don't want to.
Marathon Aeon- My scenario in the works ~on Simplici7y

riveting six-vertice amnesty ratifications
Post Reply